ArtDeco – my private beauty care revolution

Being raised in Poland of 1980’s I knew not much of make up. “high life” type of cosmetics that I knew as a girl were Max Factor. Women generally did not use much make up limiting themselves to some lipstick, blush and powder. That’s at least how most of adult women around me did their make up back when I was little.

In mid 90’s I have ended up in the US, where I have discovered a whole new world…. brands like Cover Girl, Clinique and many more. Those transformed my view on make-up and beauty. I would rather not jump into over-makeuping so popular back then among teen Americans, but also the minimising approach of women I was raised with did not suit my taste. For years I have used mix of Bonjouris, Clinique, Avon, and some other more or less known brands. But nothing has influenced my make-up life as ArtDeco.

Several years back I have heard about their innovative mosaic system. It seemed like a good solution to huge bags of e.g. eyeshadows that I used to keep around and not use much. Not use much… why? Simply because of the e.g. shadow-trio only one color would go well with my skin and style. This in turn would translate to spending money on something wasted later on.

I have not jumped right at the ArtDeco idea, for variety of reasons. From the very down-to-ground matter of being sole supporter of a family of 3 and not earning too much, to the simple issue of the brand not being easily available in Poland for years.

Finally, last year this has changed. One day after buying food for my newts in at a local pet store in one of the shopping centers I have strolled down to SEPHORA to replace my already finish blue mascara (sadly, I’m allergic to 99.9% black mascaras- vampire eyes running red effect) and I saw a special offer for ArtDeco products. Having tight budget I have grabbed just the magnetic case, thinking “oh, why the hell not?”.

And that was a decision that has transformed my drawer. It has also encouraged me to really start taking care of myself 😉

Here is a picture of the one I got:Image

Well, but once you get the box…it kind of makes you want to fill it up. It asks for it…

That’s when the magic hit me… I was able to pick and choose from among a huge palette of colors of eye shadows… and I was able to mix and match whatever I chose… not being forced to buy a specific set of 2-4 colors out of which at least one would simply not go with me. This allowed me to trash many of previously stored shadows and limit my collection of color cosmetics from a grand bag… to a size small. The magnetic beauty boxes by ArtDeco go from duo (for two shadows) up to a Magnum box (up to 12 pieces). I’m now on verge of getting a Magnum box and a 6 shadow + lipstick box.

The bigger boxes are very convenient since the system does not only include shadows, but also blushes and camouflage = you can have a traveling set on you and it will take not much more space in your purse then 2 compact powders. No need to have a whole travel-kit with you taking up 1/2 of your purse…just 1 Magnum box (especially the one with room for a lipstick), mascara and a pressed powder will easily replace it.

This is a big advantage when going on short business trips and have to pack lightly due to airline weight limits. But also in day-to-day work… why carry 500gr of cosmetics with you… when all you need can be fit into 100-150gr?

Well, but that’s it about the mosaic system….

I wanted to leave you all reading this a hint about something that you might, but don’t have to carry with you traveling. It is small (5ml only) Eyeshadow Base by ArtDeco. When I got it two days ago I was thinking.. why on earth do I need this.. then again curiosity killed the cat, right? So I let myself be killed 😉

It is 3rd day I’m using it and I absolutely love it. Now I wonder how could I have done make up without it.

5ml seems like not much especially that the price for it is not low. But I already can see that it will last me for a few months. You put a thin-film of it on you eyelids and it grants you 3 wishes 😉

  1. it moisturizer the skin (very convenient when running around in C02 filled cities)
  2. it brings out the full color of the shadow you put on it- intensifies it- thus making you use less to get the same intensity effect you used to with traditional methods
  3. it fastens and makes the shadows waterproof…. thus keeps it from smudging, wearing off and running (if you get wet in the rain)

I have to say that I’m amazed.

I’m still reluctant to try the mascaras, due to my allergy that has limited me to blue and violet mascaras from SEPHORA. My doctor said it is a matter of a pigment used in almost all mascaras around the world. I will though take a look at it… maybe that nasty part is not there…

So, whether you are traveling lightly, do not want to carry tons of cosmetics in your bag or simply want some order in your drawer,  whether you are traditionalist in your make up or fan of innovation, I strongly urge you to give ArtDeco a trial. I’m pretty sure you will find in their range something that will help you or transform your view on your beauty drawer 😉

One thought on “ArtDeco – my private beauty care revolution

Leave a Reply

